Weekly Writing 1–Novices vs experts

As I read Ruth Benander’s article, “Experiential learning in the scholarship of teaching and learning,’  (2009) I could not help but personalize the information, comparing her descriptions of experts and novices with my own experiences. I completed my undergraduate degree many years ago, but have been a student in numerous courses since that time.

I certainly agree with the author that the classroom experience is very different for the novice than the expert faculty member.   The expert teacher may be so familiar with the material and the expectations that he/she does not realize the murkiness of the student view.

A task becomes almost second nature when you have done it countless times. When I share with my granddaughter how to bake bread, I discover there are many instructions I unintentionally omit because I forget she doesn’t have as much baking experience. Over time I have become equipped with a bag of tools for a task. The novice’s tool bag is lacking or nonexistent.

How do I know what I don’t know? We all view situations from our own constructs, but I think when the content and format are unfamiliar, as our ONID courses are, we have the opportunity to experience the novice role again. Communication and interaction processes may be unfamiliar, as well as ways of discovering faculty expectations of students.

Knowing what we know as experts, can the expert truly experience the “confusion of novelty that students experience in classes’ described by Benander (2009)?  Perhaps not completely, but we can certainly try.

As a student, I may cry out that we cannot find directions or vital information; however, that part of me that has been the expert knows to keep digging, because what I need to know may be just an overlooked link. Initial assignments seem to be the most difficult as I try to ascertain the instructor’s expectations. Rubrics are helpful, but I am very out of practice at writing essays such as this assignment.